That's a Wrap

That’s a Wrap! Feb.2016

I read a total of six books this month! The most I’ve ever read in a month I think so this is very exciting for me.  🙂

February (2)

Here’s what I read:

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This was a cute story but I felt it was very overhyped. I’m still glad though to have read this book for my #readpoc2016 challenge.

Akata Watch by Nnedi Okorafor

This book is usually described as “Harry Potter in Nigeria” and I think it is very fitting. Magical settings, diverse characters, and charming plot made this a very enjoyable read. Definitely reccommend!

The Hound of the Baskervilles (Sherlock Holmes Graphic Novels Adaptation #1) by Ian Edington and of course, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I picked this up on a whim from my local library since I’ve never read Sherlock Holmes. I thought this was a nice way to ease myself into the story since I consider the books a little daunting.

Fake ID by Lamar Giles

Very, very underrated book. This was probably my favorite book of February. It’s an intriguing mystery with so many plot twists that you just don’t expect. Pick it up if you’re interested!

George by Alex Gino

I cried. No use in not admitting it. This book is for middle-grade readers so the writing style was simplistic but still so sweet. It opened my eyes to what exactly transgender people go through and the conflicts they experience from a very young age. I’m so happy this book is available for young readers who will relate and need a voice that is almost entirely absent in literature.

The Awakening by Kate Chopin

This book was for my English class (I have an essay test tomorrow argh!) and I was excited to read it since it’s found on every feminist literature list. However, I enjoyed the writing more than the actual story.

Very proud of myself for reading so many books in February! What did you guys read?

Leave a Reply

